Picture
When I'm working on the film - even when I'm not actually "working" on it, too - I can get tunnel vision and not see the world around me. I get lost in the story as it unfolds.
Filming the cold-stunned sea turtle rescue operation was like that. Once I was rolling, there really was nothing but the drama of 35 turtles being transported more than a thousand miles in an effort to save their lives.
Saving lives, whether it is in regards to turtles or people, is dramatic by its very nature. Even after the turtles made it safely to Florida from Massachusetts, they faced uncertainty and a long recovery.
What they need now is caring and compassion - and they are getting it in spades at Loggerhead MC.
I post about this now because it also relates to how we, as journalists, can be when it comes to a tragedy like the recent mass shootings in Connecticut. When you cover an event like that you might have tunnel vision at first - just focusing on the "story." But there are lives involved....emotions and pain. No matter how "dramatic something is, if we fail to see the humanity of the situation, we also fail to exercise humanity in our coverage.
My heart goes out to all of those affected by the recent tragedy. My heart also goes out to all of those left with "tunnel vision."
Sometimes, it's OK to put down the camera....and simply weep.

-RW


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.