For those of you who have followed the progress of this documentary since its beginnings in 2011, you might wonder at the finality of this next statement.
"Journey Home" is completed.
I know I've said that once before and fate would stand up and prove me wrong...but this time I'm 98.75% sure.
Those who know me personally know that I pull no punches with honesty. In fact, as it pertains to this film, I've shared so many "ups" and "downs" one might rightly think the film was a Soap Opera rather than a documentary.
If you are "new" to the project (as in, you began following these blog updates later than September of last year), you may have no concept as to the first version of "Journey Home" or the events that transpired to necessitate a re-shoot. To be honest, none of that matters now.
"Journey Home," as it is now, is an extraordinary film. It is completely different from the older version and is a much more "complete" story about Loggerhead Marinelife Center (LMC) and sea turtle rehab.
So, what's my 1.25% trepidation? Honestly, I am waiting for some "other shoe to drop." As a filmmaker it's hard for me to look at my completed works objectively. I do know that if I like something of mine - and like it a lot - chances are it's pretty damn awesome. But my cooperation and standing agreement with LMC means they have to love it, too. After all, the final film will be sold through them, with 100% of the profits going to save sea turtles.
I did a private screening of the "rough cut" with admin staff from the center today. As they watched the film I could feel my pulse quicken. Would they like it? Would they like it as much as I do?
Those who viewed it today had nothing but the highest praise for the film. They complimented aspects of it that I worked very hard at to get them "just right."
However, for the center to fully sign-off on the film and give it their stamp of approval, it needs to be viewed by LMC leadership and their head veterinarian. I don't doubt they will like it but I know they're looking at it for the details. Are the sea turtle facts correct? Does the film project the themes and mission of the center correctly? I did my best to achieve those goals but I'm also gun-shy about having another new and drastic hurdle to overcome.
Now, I just have to sit back and wait.

Cheers,
-Rick

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.