Picture
We were able to get a quick picture in before the crowd arrived.
To say that our appearance at LMC's Turtle Fest was a success is about as much of an understatement as saying leatherback sea turtles are kinda big.
Along with musician Mike White, we had a steady stream of people coming by to take a look at "Journey Home," pick up some giveaways and, for many of them, long conversations about why I made the film and what I hope it'll do.
It was a phenomenal day!
However, one moment stands out the most to me.
A young, brown-haired girl, who may have been about six-years-old, picked up a picture of the "Journey Home" movie poster and looked at it, while her mother talked to me about the film.
Seeing the girl look so intently at the picture I said to her, "That sea turtle's name is 'Trace," to which she nodded slightly. A moment passed and I sensed that she wondered about his missing front flipper.
"His story is in the movie," I said. "He was caught in old fishing line and lost his flipper from it."
She looked at me and then at the television in front of me that was playing "Journey Home" on a loop.
I had no idea at what point in the film it was, as I couldn't see the screen and had turned down the volume because Mike was playing a set of his music.
In a tiny voice she asked me, "Is that 'Trace?'" and pointed at the screen. I leaned around and sure enough, there was Trace, about to be released back into the ocean.
I smiled and told her that yes, that was him and watch very carefully to see how his story ended. Without a sound she watched as Trace was carried into the water and then (as the camera follows him under the water) she watched Trace swim away, into the aqua-green sea, on his Journey Home.
Her smile lit up the whole area...so did mine.
I think I have at least one new fan from today.

Cheers,
- Rick


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.