I'm still sifting through the hour and 15-minutes worth of footage shot on Thursday. There's a lot of great stuff in it.
I thought I might blog tonight about the "tech specs" of how I am crafting this doc.
First, my primary camera is a Canon 7D, usually mounted with a 55-85mm "Frankenlens" that has been adapted to macro/fisheye capabilities.
The shotgun mic is a Polaroid directional microphone that can be switched between 90-degree and 120-degree pick-up.
I have a portable dolly system that can be attached to the tripod.
However, my normal set-up can be seen in the second image below. I "Jimmy-rigged" a monopole into a chest rig and just kind of get real, REAL close to the action. :)
There are other bits of equipment (like clip-on mics for interviews, lighting, bounces and such) that are used for specific shots.
Since, I am a "one-man-band," I carry almost all of equipment with me to each shoot, no matter if I think I need to or not.
Better safe than sorry, right? ... Well, at least after that battery incident... LOL

Cheers,
-Rick
Picture
Trying not to get under foot while still getting close to the action.
Jersey Girl, Just Me
2/21/2012 10:40:38 am

who knew the filmaker would be in one of the shots! How did the turtle in the picture get injured, and what are they doing to help?

Reply
Rick W.
2/22/2012 08:22:19 am

"Eggnog" was released the day this pic was shot! :)
The turtle came in with these notes : Eggnog is a juvenile green turtle found floating near the Hillsboro Inlet. The turtle has a boat propeller injury to the rear portion of the carapace and an old healed crescent shaped hind flipper defect. Radiographs also revealed a fishing hook fragment in the upper portion of the turtle’s beak. The wounds will be debrided and treated topically and Eggnog will receive fluids, antibiotics, multivitamins and good nutrition until fully recovered and ready for release.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.